In the Watches of the Night

Author: Peter C. Baldwin

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN: 9780226036038

Category: History

Page: 296

View: 385

Before skyscrapers and streetlights glowed at all hours, American cities fell into inky blackness with each setting of the sun. But over the course of the nineteenth and early twentieth century, new technologies began to light up streets, sidewalks, buildings, and public spaces. Peter C. Baldwin’s evocative book depicts the changing experience of the urban night over this period, visiting a host of actors—scavengers, newsboys, and mashers alike—in the nocturnal city. Baldwin examines work, crime, transportation, and leisure as he moves through the gaslight era, exploring the spread of modern police forces and the emergence of late-night entertainment, to the era of electricity, when social campaigns sought to remove women and children from public areas at night. While many people celebrated the transition from darkness to light as the arrival of twenty-four hours of daytime, Baldwin shows that certain social patterns remained, including the danger of street crime and the skewed gender profile of night work. Sweeping us from concert halls and brothels to streetcars and industrial forges, In the Watches of the Night is an illuminating study of a vital era in American urban history.
Last Watch of the Night

Author: Paul Monette

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 9781480473874

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 310

View: 211

Tender and passionate autobiographical essays by the National Book Award–winning author of Becoming a Man. “Does it go too fast?” Monette asks about life at the beginning of one piece. The answer is a resounding “yes” for the individuals who populate this stunning work of nonfiction. These ten autobiographical essays memorialize those whose lives have been claimed by AIDS. Following Becoming a Man and Borrowed Time, Last Watch of the Night is Monette’s third and final self-portrait. In this collection, he confronts death—those of lovers and friends, and even his own eventual demise—with both bravery and compassion. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Paul Monette including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the Paul Monette papers of the UCLA Library Special Collections.
The Night Watch

Author: Sergei Lukyanenko

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781409065586

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 827

Walking the streets of Moscow, indistinguishable from the rest of its population, are the Others. Possessors of supernatural powers and capable of entering the Twilight, a shadowy parallel world existing in parallel to our own, each Other owes allegiance either to the Dark or the Light. The Night Watch, first book in the Night Watch series, follows Anton, a young Other owing allegiance to the Light. As a Night Watch agent he must patrol the streets and metro of the city, protecting ordinary people from the vampires and magicians of the Dark. When he comes across Svetlana, a young woman under a powerful curse, and saves an unfledged Other, Egor, from vampires, he becomes involved in events that threaten the uneasy truce, and the whole city...
Night Watches

Author: W. W. Jacobs

Publisher: Read Books Ltd

ISBN: 9781473364998

Category: Fiction

Page: 164

View: 521

This early work by William Wymark Jacobs was originally published in 1914 and we are now republishing it with a brand new introductory biography. 'Night Watches' is a collection of short stories that contains tales such as 'Back to Back', 'The Unknown' and 'Easy Money'. Jacobs worked as a clerk in the civil service before turning to writing in his late twenties, publishing his first short story in 1895. Most of Jacobs' work appeared before the onset of World War I, and although the majority of his output was humorous in tone, he is best-remembered now for his macabre tales, particularly those contained in his 1902 collection The Lady of the Barge, such as 'The Monkey's Paw' and 'The Toll House'.
Night Watch

Author: Terry Pratchett

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 9781472537232

Category: Drama

Page: 96

View: 940

A new stage adaptation of one of Pratchett's best-selling novels Set in Ankh-Morpork one of the most thoroughly imagined cities in fantasy, Night Watch is the story of Sam Vimes, running hero of the Guards sequence, who finds himself cast back in time to the Ankh-Morpork of his youth. With a psychopath from his own time rising in the vile ranks of the Cable Street Unmentionables complicating things, Vimes has to ensure that history takes its course so that he will have the right future to go back to, and to keep his younger self alive."One of the funniest English authors alive" (Independent)
Night Watch

Author: Linda Fairstein

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780748119240

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 121

'Working Night Watch, Coop. All the craziest shit happens on Night Watch.' Forty-eight hours after New York Assistant D.A. Alexandra Cooper arrives in France to visit her restaurateur boyfriend, Luc Rouget, her holiday is cut short when a young woman is found murdered. Before the investigation begins, Alex is summoned back home to handle a high profile case. Mohammed Gil-Darsin, Head of the World Economic Bureau, has been accused of attacking a maid in his hotel. As the scandal unfolds, Alex finds her attention torn between preparing the alleged victim to testify and a murder case with ties too close to home. International bestselling author Linda Fairstein returns with a ripped-from-the-headlines thriller that takes Alexandra Cooper into the dark underside of New York City. LIKE ASSISTANT DA ALEX COOPER, LINDA FAIRSTEIN WAS ONCE A TOP NEW YORK CITY PROSECUTOR. CRIME NOVELS CAN'T GET ANY MORE REAL.

Night Watch

Night Watch

Author: Jack Olsen

Publisher: Crime Rant Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 877

A young woman lies dead, strangled by a killer still prowling the sweltering run-down neighborhood. The young wife of a police lieutenant receives threatening phone calls; the precinct’s patrol cars are sabotaged; even the puppies the officers have adopted as mascots are savagely slain. It looks like there's a psycho on the loose with a vendetta against the cops. And then the widow of a precinct cop is found horribly murdered. The signature of the first crime is on this one. But a deadly new element has been added – another murderer is imitating the first one’s methods. Olsen’s ear is uncanny – the language, the psychology of cops rings absolutely true with all the brutal authenticity of Joseph Wambaugh. He makes them intimate, real, alive -- the burly, 37-year-old watch commander, Lt. Packer Lind, a dedicated cop; his adoring 21-year-old wife Amnee; Precinct Commander Julius Singletary, 47 and estranged from his wandering wife Agate; Sergeant Turk Molnar, the prototype of a big, dumb, good-natured flatfoot; the lovable smart-ass Artie Siegi, sex-driven Billy Mains and his new patrol car sidekick, bosomy Mary Rob Maki; and their patrolmen pals – including Gerald Yount, 24, whose wife Darlene has been cruelly unfaithful, precipitating a nightmare that brings Olsen's novel to its thunderous resolution. Night Watch is a superb evocation of the real world of big city police today. It is a rare combination of action and a novel of character. In telling this riveting story, Jack Olsen portrays a memorable man in Watch Commander Packer Lind, along with marvelous creations of the characters of the cops under his command and their wives and the pressured lives they lead. For more than a year, Olsen studied policemen at close range: on their beats, visiting them in their homes, joining in their off-duty revelries, riding shotgun as they chased speeders and burglars and killers, walking side by side with them into the bars and back alleys and tanks and dives and sometimes onto the killing grounds of this most dangerous of occupations. After sharing their pressure-cooker lives, Olsen calls them “the most undervalued members of our society: good and decent men, for the most part, whose stresses and torments are only dimly understood by the public they serve. They live on the edge of a knife-blade, and they pay the price in broken homes, tortured lives, and uncertain futures. The wonder isn’t that there are so many bad cops. The wonder is that there are so few.”
The Night Watch Ninjas

Author: Lily Roscoe

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781471164699

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 598

HIYAAAAAAAA! Meet the night watch ninjas, keeping your towns safe from evil night-time mischief! When their midnight snack is interrupted by some shocking news, the ninjas don't hang about! Their new mission is to protect everyone from a bad guy as sneaky as he is stinky. Nowhere is safe from his bottom of toxic destruction, and the ninjas are going to need all their skills to foil his devious plans. . . But with lots of stink bombs and smelly cheese throwing them off the scent (literally), things don't always go to plan! For fans of Steven Seagull and Supertato, this vibrant and funny picture book about nocturnal animals will have you laughing out loud whilst cheering on the brave ninjas!