One Hundred and Sixty Minutes

Author: William Hazelgrove

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 9781633886988

Category: History

Page: 320

View: 612

One hundred and sixty minutes. That is all the time rescuers would have before the largest ship in the world slipped beneath the icy Atlantic. There was amazing heroism and astounding incompetence against the backdrop of the most advanced ship in history sinking by inches with luminaries from all over the world. It is a story of a network of wireless operators on land and sea who desperately sent messages back and forth across the dark frozen North Atlantic to mount a rescue mission. More than twenty-eight ships would be involved in the rescue of Titanic survivors along with four different countries. At the heart of the rescue are two young Marconi operators, Jack Phillips 25 and Harold Bride 22, tapping furiously and sending electromagnetic waves into the black night as the room they sat in slanted toward the icy depths and not stopping until the bone numbing water was around their ankles. Then they plunged into the water after coordinating the largest rescue operation the maritime world had ever seen and thereby saving 710 people by their efforts. The race to save the largest ship in the world from certain death would reveal both heroes and villains. It would begin at 11:40 PM on April 14, when the iceberg was struck and would end at 2:20 AM April 15, when her lights blinked out and left 1500 people thrashing in 25-degree water. Although the race to save Titanic survivors would stretch on beyond this, most people in the water would die, but the amazing thing is that of the 2229 people, 710 did not and this was the success of the Titanic rescue effort. We see the Titanic as a great tragedy but a third of the people were rescued and the only reason every man, woman, and child did not succumb to the cold depths is due to Jack Phillips and Harold McBride in an insulated telegraph room known as the Silent Room. These two men tapping out CQD and SOS distress codes while the ship took on water at the rate of 400 tons per minute from a three-hundred-foot gash would inaugurate the most extensive rescue operation in maritime history using the cutting-edge technology of the time, wireless.
Sixty Minutes for St. George

Author: Alexander Fullerton

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 9781911591511

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 111

Churchill called it the finest feat of arms of the Great War... After a punishing winter patrolling the Strait of Dover aboard HMS Mackerel, Nicholas Everard finds himself leading a secret mission to capture a German trawler. Little does he know it is all in preparation for the Zeebrugge Raid. As dawn breaks on St George’s Day, 1918, the Royal Navy launch a desperate assault on the Belgian submarine base, scuttling multiple blockships to trap the U-boats in the harbour. In sixty minutes of fire and fury, eight Victoria Crosses are won and hundreds of British sailors sink to their deaths. But will Nick be one of them? An extraordinary portrait of violence and valour, perfect for fans of C.S. Forester and Douglas Reeman. Praise for Sixty Minutes for St. George ‘The research is unimpeachable and the scent of battle quite overpowering’ The Sunday Times
Sixty Trends In Sixty Minutes

Author: Sam Hill

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 9780471433583

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 290

View: 607

A showcase of the sixty trends that will have the biggest impact on business in the next decade In Sixty Trends in Sixty Minutes (A Brandweek Book), top marketer Sam Hill, author of the bestselling Radical Marketing, highlights the trends that will have the biggest impact on marketing, brand management, and product development within the next decade. He separates the momentary fads from the lasting movements and reveals why trends matter, where they come from, and how to exploit them. He also describes the ten factors that will influence current trends and trends to come, such as exponential population growth, urbanization, interconnectedness, and the decreasing role of work in our lives. With these valuable insights in hand, business leaders will learn how to differentiate their product on the shelf, tap into specific markets, meet consumers' desires for "authentic" products, and much more. Hill also guides managers in conducting trend workshops identical to those offered by his consulting group at top-dollar prices. Timely, relevant, and global in its scope, this book offers entrepreneurs and managers new ideas and techniques for finding success today and in the future.
Rob Parsons: The Sixty Minute Father, The Sixty Minute Marriage

Author: Rob Parsons

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781473682528

Category: Religion

Page: 500

View: 562

THE SIXTY MINUTE FATHER sets goals to help every father ensure that he doesn't miss out on the greatest opportunity of his life. His advice includes: Put dates in your diary that are important for your children; talk to your baby as if she understands every word; if you have to be away write your children a letter; tell them how you spend your day. THE SIXTY MINUTE MARRAIGE presents an action plan to revolutionise every relationship. Includes: Are affairs good for a marriage? - How to argue - effectively - Why many men say, 'My wife's not interested in sex' - Why cutting your credit card in half can save your marriage - How a divorce will affect your children. This bundle is what every father and mother will want to read!
Brain-storm - When the Mind Becomes the Utimate Weapon

Author: David K. Brown

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781365247002

Category:

Page: 390

View: 522

Daniel Jefferies was always happy even though he led a challenging life. It was not so much that Danny was bothered by his troubles, rather life was hard on those who loved and cared about him. At a very young age it became clear that Danny was a special person. Whether that was special in a good way or special in a bad way was in the eye of the beholder. Danny was neither a square or round peg so he never fit into the spaces that were laid out for him. The only thing for sure was that Daniel Jefferies had an unmistakable effect on everyone around him. And since Danny was a happy person it made sense that he would make those around him feel better. But all that changed one day when researchers believed that they could harness his gift. In doing so they unwittingly unleashed Daniel Jefferies to become something that was not meant to be unleashed. Brain-Storm is a story so real that you wonder when, not if it is going to happen!
Journal of the Franklin Institute

Author: Franklin Institute (Philadelphia, Pa.)

Publisher: Palala Press

ISBN: DMM:057002515150

Category:

Page: 534

View: 834

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work.As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.