Playgroups and Prosecco

Author: Jo Middleton

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781473565678

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 376

A hilarious and totally relatable book about the adventures of a single mum, for fans of Catastrophe and Motherland. Readers of Why Mummy Drinks, Unmumsy Mum and The Single Mum's Wish List will love this debut novel from parenting blogger Slummy Single Mummy. 'You'll end up warming to Frankie so much that you'll be wishing you could crack open a bottle of prosecco with her in real life!' MIKE GAYLE, bestselling author of The Man I Think I Know ________________________________ January 3rd Jaffa Cakes - 7. Times I was forced to watch a small child do a dance involving a dusty piece of ribbon found under the sofa - 4. Inappropriate thoughts about Zac Efron - undisclosed. Single mum Frankie’s whole life revolves around her kids. But when your toddler has a more active social life, something has to change. Forget ‘me-time’, Frankie would settle for some adult conversation, and watching something other than the Disney channel. The local playgroup may be ruled by Instagram mums with perfect husbands but Frankie accidentally forms a splinter group of single parents. After all, Mummy really needs a playdate of her own. (Now pass the prosecco.) ________________________________ WHAT READERS ARE SAYING 'As a mum of three I could totally relate to this novel on so many levels' - Titian 'Hilarious - made me laugh out loud' - Dominique 'Lots of funny anecdotes parents will recognise!' - Claire 'With shades of Bridget Jones, Frankie stumbles through life as a single mum' - Ann 'A very funny and realistic look at motherhood' - Katrina
Unabrow

Author: Una LaMarche

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780698155664

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 272

View: 806

In between highbrow and lowbrow, there’s Unabrow. "Take the cast of ‘Bridesmaids,’ add a dash of pre-pubescent Eugene Levy, and you have the humor stylings of Una LaMarche."—Ann Imig, founder of Listen to Your Mother As a girl, Una LaMarche was as smart as she was awkward. She was blessed with a precocious intellect, a love of all things pop culture, and eyebrows bushier than Frida Kahlo’s. Adversity made her stronger...and funnier. In Unabrow, Una shares the cringe-inducing lessons she’s learned from a life as a late bloomer, including the seven deadly sins of DIY bangs, how not to make your own jorts, and how to handle pregnancy, plucking, and the rites of passage during which your own body is your worst frenemy. For readers who loved Let’s Pretend This Never Happened and for fans of Mindy Kaling, Tina Fey, and Amy Schumer, Unabrow is the book June Cleaver would have written if she spent more time drinking and less time vacuuming.

Hot Mess

Hot Mess

Author: Lucy Vine

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781409172215

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 770

The eBook Number One bestseller The hottest book of the summer. A sassy, laugh out loud beach read everyone is talking about ***** Hot Mess [n.] - someone attractive, who is often in disarray. Have you ever shown up to Sunday brunch still smelling of Saturday night? Chosen bed, Netflix and pizza over human contact? Stayed in your mould-ridden flat because it's cheap? Meet your spirit animal, Ellie Knight. Her life isn't turning out exactly as she planned. She hates her job, her friends are coupling up and settling down, and her flatmates are just plain weird. Some people might say she's a hot mess but who really has their sh*t together anyway? For fans of Fleabag and Girls, this is a fresh and funny coming-of-age story with a single-girl heroine that will speak to millennials everywhere. ***** 'The laugh-out-loud literary equivalent of Trainwreck-meets-Fleabag' Glamour 'A breath of fresh air, deftly subverting some of chick lit's biggest clichés' Stylist 'More lifestyle-affirming than Bridget Jones' Sarah Knight, author of The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck 'If you love dirty jokes, dating horror stories and hilarious dialogue, this book is for you' Emma Gannon, author and podcast host of Ctrl Alt Delete 'I laughed and sighed with recognition as I turned every page' Daisy Buchanan, author of How To Be a Grown-Up