The Kids' Book Club Book

Author: Judy Gelman

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781440629204

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 480

View: 324

The first complete guide-for use by adults and children-to creating fun and educational book clubs for kids. As authors of The Book Club Cookbook, the classic guide to integrating great food and food-related discussion into book club gatherings, Judy Gelman and Vicki Levy Krupp hear a common refrain from parents, librarians, teachers, community leaders and kids themselves: "How about writing a book for kids' book clubs?" Indeed, in recent years youth organizations, parents, libraries, schools, and our local, state, and federal governments have launched thousands of book clubs for children as a way to counter falling literacy rates and foster a love of reading. Based on surveys representing five hundred youth book clubs across the country and interviews with parents, kids, educators, and librarians, The Kids' Book Club Book features: _- the top fifty favorite book club reads for children ages eight to eighteen; _- ideas and advice on forming great kids' book clubs-and tips for kids who want to start their own book clubs; _- recipes, activities, and insights from such bestselling children's book authors as Christopher Paolini, Lois Lowry, Jerry Spinelli, Nancy Farmer, Christopher Paul Curtis, Andrew Clements, Laurie Halse Anderson, Norton Juster, and many others. From recipes for the Dump Punch and egg salad sandwiches included in Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie to instructionson how to make soap carvings like the ones left in the knot-hole of a tree in Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird, this book provides a bounty of ideas for making every kids' book club a success.
The Kid's Book Club

Author: Desiree Webber

Publisher: Libraries Unlimited

ISBN: 1563088185

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 276

View: 457

Instill a love of books and reading in children even before they have entirely mastered reading skills. Everything you need to start a fun-packed weekly book club at your school or library is included; detailed instructions for planning and conducting the meetings, book summaries, lists of discussion questions, reproducible activity sheets, even snack suggestions. Sixteen ready-to-use book club sessions are right at your fingertips. It's never too early to get kids hooked on reading. This guide makes it easy-for you and the children. An invaluable resource for children's librarians, media specialists, teachers, day care providers, and parents.
Auggie & Me: Three Wonder Stories

Author: R. J. Palacio

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9780525644248

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 847

Over 13 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Wonder and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. And don't miss R.J. Palacio's highly anticipated new novel, Pony, available now! Auggie & Me gives readers a special look at Auggie’s world through three new points of view. These stories are an extra peek at Auggie before he started at Beecher Prep and during his first year there. Readers get to see him through the eyes of Julian, the bully; Christopher, Auggie’s oldest friend; and Charlotte, Auggie’s new friend at school. Together, these three stories are a treasure for readers who don’t want to leave Auggie behind when they finish Wonder.
The Bad Mothers' Book Club

Author: Keris Stainton

Publisher: Trapeze

ISBN: 1409175863

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 471

'Keris is a wonderful writer. You should definitely get hold of this book!' Charlotte, 5 stars The laugh-out-loud new novel from the ebook bestseller! Meet Emma, the new Mum on the block. Since moving to the Liverpudlian seaside after her husband's career change, her life consists of the following: long walks on the beach (with the dog), early nights (with the kids) and Netflix (no chill). Bored and lonely, when Emma is cordially invited to the exclusive cool school-mums' book club, she thinks her luck may finally be about to change. But she soon finds the women of the club aren't quite what they seem - and after an unfortunate incident involving red wine and a white carpet, she finds herself unceremoniously kicked out. The answer? Start her own book club - for bad mothers who just want to drink wine and share stories. But will this town let two book clubs exist? Or is there only room for one queen of the school gates...? Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and Why Mummy Drinks.
Bunny's Book Club Goes to School

Author: Annie Silvestro

Publisher: National Geographic Books

ISBN: 9780525644644

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 0

View: 236

Bunny and his forest pals from Bunny's Book Club have their first day at school in this warm and funny story about friendship and kindness. Bunny and his forest friends meet at the town library every Saturday morning for book club. But one summer day, their library buddy Josie confesses to Bunny that she's nervous about starting school. Bunny has an idea: He'll go with her! Soon, Bunny's friends Bear, Raccoon, Bird, Porcupine, Squirrel, Mole, Mouse, and Frog decide to join him—and Josie's first day of school turns into a critter-filled adventure! For any child starting school, here's a comforting, funny, and very fuzzy celebration of friendship that will make everyone excited to hit the books.