Author: Randy Petrick

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN: 1498488412

Category: Religion

Page: 154

View: 246

Just When You Thought "Nothing Beats Chicken Soup.....".along comes author Randy Petrick with Volume Two of the highly practical and innovative book series, The Soul Repair Manual. The daily devotions in this volume focus on hope and joy, providing tangible encouragement for anyone feeling emotionally overwhelmed by life's hardships, struggles, and storms. Life is not easy when we are in the broken places, but if we can learn to trust God and allow Him to actively work in our lives, we can find peace and contentment to replace anxiety and discouragement.Refreshingly, Randy allows his personal struggles and flaws to be exposed, helping craft advice and insight for real issues we all face. Showing how his relationship with God has grown will inspire you to view your own relationship and see where God might be encouraging you to change.Randy begins his daily devotions with a section titled "Storms," covering common situations and quandaries people have where they wonder if God is listening and whether their struggles will ever end. Section Two, "Keys to Survival," reinforces Randy's belief that the key to Soul Repair lies in building and strengthening our relationships with God. It contains ideas and biblical steps to help further that process and facilitate "survival." Finally, "Recovery" concludes the sections by celebrating the rewards to come as we grow closer to God. Taken together, the daily devotions will help you restore your relationship with God, strengthen your spiritual foundation, and help you move from any storm to the safety and comfort of God's loving hands.Reading The Soul Repair Manual is like getting a Scripture-based prescription for hope and joy. The daily doses are easily absorbed and can be returned to time and again whenever the storms of life threaten to overtake you."
The Divine Hours (Volume Two): Prayers for Autumn and Wintertime

Author: Phyllis Tickle

Publisher: Image

ISBN: 9781101906286

Category: Religion

Page: 688

View: 937

The second volume in a trilogy of prayer manuals compiled by Publishers Weekly religion editor Phyllis Tickle as a contemporary Book of Hours to guide Christians gently yet authoritatively through the daily offices. The Divine Hours is the first major literary and liturgical reworking of the sixth-century Benedictine Rule of fixed-hour prayer. This beautifully conceived and thoroughly modern three-volume guide will appeal to the theological novice as well as to the ecclesiastical sophisticate. Making primary use of the Book of Common Prayer and the writings of the Church Fathers, The Divine Hours is also a companion to the New Jerusalem Bible, from which it draws its Scripture readings. The trilogy blends prayer and praise in a way that, while extraordinarily fresh, respects and builds upon the ancient wisdom of Christianity. The second book in the set, Prayers for Autumn and Wintertime, provides prayers, psalms, and readings for these two festive seasons. Compact, it is perfect for those seeking greater spiritual depth. As a contemporary Book of Hours, The Divine Hours: Prayers for Autumn and Wintertime heralds a renewal of the tradition of disciplined daily prayer, and gives those already using the first volume the continuity they are seeking. The series will culminate in a third volume for springtime, completing the liturgical and calendar year with the offices for every day.
The History of Scottish Theology, Volume II

Author: David Fergusson

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780191077227

Category: Religion

Page: 464

View: 482

This three-volume work comprises over eighty essays surveying the history of Scottish theology from the early middle ages onwards. Written by an international team of scholars, the collection provides the most comprehensive review yet of the theological movements, figures, and themes that have shaped Scottish culture and exercised a significant influence in other parts of the world. Attention is given to different traditions and to the dispersion of Scottish theology through exile, migration, and missionary activity. The volumes present in diachronic perspective the theologies that have flourished in Scotland from early monasticism until the end of the twentieth century. The History of Scottish Theology, Volume I covers the period from the appearance of Christianity around the time of Columba to the era of Reformed Orthodoxy in the seventeenth century. Volume II begins with the early Enlightenment and concludes in late Victorian Scotland. Volume III explores the 'long twentieth century'. Recurrent themes and challenges are assessed, but also new currents and theological movements that arose through Renaissance humanism, Reformation teaching, federal theology, the Scottish Enlightenment, evangelicalism, missionary, Biblical criticism, idealist philosophy, dialectical theology, and existentialism. Chapters also consider the Scots Catholic colleges in Europe, Gaelic women writers, philosophical scepticism, the dialogue with science, and the reception of theology in liturgy, hymnody, art, literature, architecture, and stained glass. Contributors also discuss the treatment of theological themes in Scottish literature.
The Emotional Eater's Repair Manual

Author: Julie M. Simon

Publisher: New World Library

ISBN: 9781608681518

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 396

View: 302

A guide to weight loss is designed to address the psychological aspects of overeating that cannot be resolved through diet and exercise, drawing on 20 years of clinical and personal experience to counsel readers on how to nurture the body with whole foods and hunger-balancing activities. Original.